Underwater Photo Competition Date Extended To Accommodate More Participation

Underwater Photo Competition Date Extended To Accommodate More Participation

Sunday 18th of September 2022

Titled the ‘Maldives 50 Best Sites’ the underwater photo competition organized by the Ministry of Tourism has received overwhelming support from the public, resulting in postponing the date till 21st October 2022. The decision to push back the date was to facilitate more people to participate in this Golden Jubilee year celebration. The initial deadline for participation was scheduled to be 27th September 2022.

Held in collaboration with Ocean Geographics and Maldives Alliance for Dive Operators (MADO), the photoshoot aims to capture and memorise the unrivalled underwater sanctuaries of the Maldives. In doing so, all participants will be contributing towards the health assessment of the coral reefs in the country and will be able to partake in the 50th Anniversary festivities. The underwater photo competition marks the first of many annual competitions in the future and will provide a sustainable route to keep in check the coral health of our ecosystems.

The first edition of this contest will now take place on 21st October 2022 at 50 pre-selected signature dive sites in the Maldives. On that day, contestants will be submitting thousands of photos taken from different prime locations of the country from morning 0730am to 1730pm in the evening. A portfolio of 5 pictures must be submitted at every site in line with the given criteria.

The Ministry of Tourism invites all ocean-lovers and photoholics to take part in this event ranging from local divers to visitors and resorts. All participants of the event will be presented with a Certificate of Achievement recognising their contribution to the Coral Reefs Health Assessment of the Maldives.

At each dive site, 1st, 2nd and 3 distinguished mentions will be selected from among the pictures and awarded prizes. With international judges presiding over the selection process, winners will be announced live on 29th October 2022.